About the awards

About the Awards

There is fantastic work being done in the NSW public sector and we want to recognise the people that make it happen.

NSW Premier’s Awards celebrates excellence in the delivery of public services to the NSW community by the public sector, not-for-profit organisations and private businesses.

By recognising excellence today we hope to inspire a brighter future for NSW and Australia.

Key Dates
2019

Nominations open:
20 May 2019
Nominations close:
26 June 2019
Judging commences:
July 2019
Finalists announced:
October 2019
Awards Ceremony:
6 November 2019

Award
Categories

Our Award Categories are designed to recognise excellence in the delivery of public services to the NSW community. The five categories reflect the five key policy priorities of the NSW Government and are listed below.

Both teams and individuals are eligible to be nominated for any of the following categories. Individuals can also be nominated for the Anthea Kerr Award which recognises future public sector leaders under 35 years of age.

2019
Finalists

To ensure a sustainable future for citizens, the NSW Government is driving greater levels of integration and efficiency across long-term planning, precincts, infrastructure priorities, open space, the environment, our natural resources – land, water, mining – energy, and growing our industries. These priorities have been recognised in Keeping our Environment Clean, Making Housing More Affordable and Delivering Infrastructure.

TEAMS

  • Bella Vista Public School Shared Sporting Facilities
    School Infrastructure NSW
    Education

  • North West Metro
    Sydney Metro
    Transport

  • Return and Earn
    NSW Environment Protection Authority
    Planning, Industry and Environment

  • Victim Services Community Engagement Team
    Department of Communities and Justice
    Stronger Communities

Delivering better social outcomes for the most vulnerable and equality of opportunity for people across NSW, no matter their background or where they live, is important to the NSW Government. We have been investing in our social support and law and order systems to Reduce Domestic Violence Reoffending and Reduce Youth Homelessness to ensure our communities are safe and caring places to live.

TEAMS

  • Legal Aid NSWs Civil Law Service for Aboriginal Communities
    Legal Aid NSW
    Stronger Communities

  • Making a Safe Home Program (MaSH)
    Department of Communities and Justice
    Stronger Communities

  • Overdose Response with take Home Naloxone
    South Eastern Sydney Local Health District
    Health

  • Police, Ambulance, Clinical, Early, Response (PACER)
    South Eastern Sydney Local Health District
    Health

  • Sydney Metro Pre-employment Program
    Sydney Metro
    Transport

  • Work and Development Order Scheme
    Department of Communities and Justice, Department of Customer Service & Legal Aid NSW
    Stronger Communities

 INDIVIDUALS

  • Elizabeth Ervine
    Aboriginal Housing Office
    Planning, Industry and Environment

Over the past few years, the NSW Premier has had priorities which have improved delivery of a range of services to families and individuals across NSW. Achieving success in the Improving Government Services and Improving Service levels in hospitals priorities, coupled with progress in digital transformation, has laid the foundation to drive NSW to a world-leading position in digital technology and customer service for the next decade.

TEAMS

  • Cost of Living
    Service NSW
    Customer Service

  • Eradication of the Brown Marmorated Stink Bug incursion in Western Sydney
    Local Land Services
    Planning, Industry and Environment

  • High Flow Oxygen for Bronchiolitis
    Hunter New England Local Health District
    Health

  • Improving the Emergency Department Patient Experience 
    Ministry of Health
    Health

  • Little Wings
    The Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network
    Health

  • Reducing Over Representation of Aboriginal young people in custody on remand
    Department of Communities and Justice
    Stronger Communities

INDIVIDUALS

  • Ivy Chen
    Revenue NSW
    Customer Service

  • Jiandong Jiang
    Transport for NSW
    Transport

  • Paul Newcombe
    Sydney Trains
    Transport

  • Professor Kate Curtis
    Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District
    Health

  • Vanathy A David
    Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District
    Health

To deliver positive improvements to the lives of people of NSW, it is important to provide the people with opportunities, security and confidence in driving the economy and supporting a diverse workforce. The Premier’s priorities of Creating Jobs and Driving Public Sector Diversity have been key identifiers in facilitating an economic environment that encourages private sector investment and innovation. It is therefore important to recognise contributions to these priorities to help strengthen the diverse demographics of the NSW economy.

TEAMS

  • Aboriginal Employment Strategy
    Public Service Commission
    Premier and Cabinet

  • Revitalising Newcastle
    Transport for NSW
    Transport

  • Solar for NSW Hospitals
    Ministry of Health
    Health

INDIVIDUALS

  • John Dinan
    Roads and Maritime Services
    Transport

The NSW Government has a responsibility to not only build a strong foundation in early years to support a brighter future for our children, community and state, but also focus on the quality of lifelong learning to prepare the workforce for ever changing situations. We have been working on Protecting our Kids, Tackling Childhood Obesity and Improving Education Results to help provide the next generation with the best possible start in life along with focussing on improving educational outcomes which will help to make the people of NSW ready for the future.

TEAMS

  • Gastrostomy Training Program
    Sydney Local Health District
    Health

  • Grandbuddy STEM
    Glenwood Public School
    Education

  • School Improvement through HSC performance
    West Wallsend High School
    Education

  • SWAY
    Royal Far West School
    Education

INDIVIDUALS

  • Mark Trebley
    NSW Ambulance
    Health

The Anthea Kerr award was established in honour of Anthea Kerr, who passed away suddenly at 37. Anthea gave 16 years of outstanding service to the NSW Government sector. The then Minister for Finance and Services highlighted her service in Parliament and stated that an award in her honour would be established to help outstanding young public servants develop their careers.

In recognition of Anthea’s outstanding contribution and as a testament to her memory, the Public Service Commission sponsors the Anthea Kerr Award as part of the Premier’s Awards. The Award seeks to recognise future public sector leaders and is awarded to a maximum of two individuals each year. The award is given in recognition of outstanding effort and commitment in the NSW public sector. The recipient(s) of the Anthea Kerr Award receive an individually customised professional development program to assist them in accelerating their career.

  • Alexandra Sprouster
    Department of Communities and Justice
    Stronger Communities

  • Haley Estreich
    NSW Ambulance
    Health

  • Jane Turner
    Sydney Local Health District
    Health

  • Liam Shepherd
    Sydney Trains
    Transport

  • Sophie Hogan
    Sydney Local Health District
    Health

Judging
Criteria

  • Initiative shown by team or individual in identifying the potential for improvement to systems or service provision to the public.
  • Evidence of innovation in responding to a problem, opportunity, or new policy, and in the delivery of the project.
  • Commitment to public sector values, collaboration, excellent customer focus and stakeholder management, leadership.
  • Perseverance and dedication during project start-up, and ongoing to ensure success.
  • Was the project completed on time and within budget?
  • How well did the work improve systems, services or outcomes for the people of NSW?
  • How did the project or initiative contribute to the Premier’s Priority target/goal? Please provide evaluation and evidence of tangible results, showing your benchmarks and improvements (percentages and numbers).
  • Is the project or initiative scalable, or could it be adapted for other types of projects or organisations?
  • Did the team or individual go above and beyond their normal duties?
  • Does the work succeed where others have failed?
  • Has the work been extended or is it being applied in other areas of, or outside of your organisation?
  • Initiative shown by team or individual in identifying the potential for improvement to systems or service provision to the public.
  • Evidence of innovation in responding to a problem, opportunity, or new policy, and in the delivery of the project.
  • Commitment to public sector values, collaboration, excellent customer focus and stakeholder management, leadership.
  • Perseverance and dedication during project start-up, and ongoing to ensure success.
  • Was the project completed on time and within budget?
  • How well did the work improve systems, services or outcomes for the people of NSW?
  • How did the project or initiative contribute to the Premier’s Priority target/goal? Please provide evaluation and evidence of tangible results, showing your benchmarks and improvements (percentages and numbers).
  • Is the project or initiative scalable, or could it be adapted for other types of projects or organisations?
  • Did the team or individual go above and beyond their normal duties?
  • Does the work succeed where others have failed?
  • Has the work been extended or is it being applied in other areas of, or outside of your organisation?

FAQs

Winning a Premier’s Award means that you and your project will be nationally recognised for the great services that you have delivered to the people of NSW.

Public sector agencies or their partners can nominate via the Award Ambassador of the team’s department or agency.

To be considered, projects must be delivered by:

  • A public sector agency (or agencies)
  • Partnerships between an agency and an organisation from outside the sector (private, not for profit, academic)
  • An organisation outside of the sector (private, not for profit, academic) providing services direct to the NSW public.

Award panels, comprising senior representatives from the public, community and business sectors assess the nominations according to the criteria below and select finalists in each award category. A judging committee, comprising the Public Service Commissioner, a member of the PSC Advisory Board, and the Secretary of the Department of Premier and Cabinet, will consider the finalists and recommend winners in each category to the Premier for the final decision.

You can contact the team by phoning us on 02 9272 6173 or by emailing us on psawards@psc.nsw.gov.au

Find an
ambassador

Agency/Dept Name Phone Email
Agency for Clinical Innovation Glen Pang 9464 4713 Glen.Pang@health.nsw.gov.au
Central Coast Local Health District Kylie Downs 4320 9363 Kylie.Downs@health.nsw.gov.au
Central Coast Local Health District Lyn McLean 4320 9363 Lyn.McLean@health.nsw.gov.au
Children's Guardian Janet Schorer 8219 3600 Janet.schorer@kidsguardian.nsw.gov.au
Children's Guardian Virginia Maguire 8219 3683 Virginia.Maguire@kidsguardian.nsw.gov.au
Clinical Excellence Commission Lauren Toal 9269 5606 lauren.toal@health.nsw.gov.au
Department of Customer Service Matthew Morcom 8229 2360 Matthew.Morcom2@finance.nsw.gov.au
Department of Education Katherine Hardacre 02 7814 1883 katherine.hardacre@det.nsw.edu.au
Department of Education Susan White 0428 992 927 susan.white7@det.nsw.edu.au
Department of Family & Community Services Georga Kemp   Georga.Kemp@facs.nsw.gov.au
Department of Industry Charlie Carroll   charlie.carroll@industry.nsw.gov.au
Department of Industry Karen Dinnell   karen.dinnell@industry.nsw.gov.au
Department of Justice Kim McBurnie 8688 7441 kim.mcburnie@justice.nsw.gov.au
Department of Planning & Enviroment Kate Woods 9585 6038 Kate.Woods@environment.nsw.gov.au
Department of Premier and Cabinet Caroline Page 9228 4286 caroline.page@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Far West Local Health District Kate Williams 8080 1469 kate.williams3@health.nsw.gov.au
Fire & Rescue NSW Brett Hamlin 9269 6322  brett.hamlin@fire.nsw.gov.au
Fire & Rescue NSW David Felton 9265 2678 david.felton@fire.nsw.gov.au
Health Education and Training Institute Rod West 9844 6522 Rod.West@health.nsw.gov.au
Health Infrastructure Samantha Brown 9978 5443 samantha.brown2@health.nsw.gov.au
HealthShare NSW Leanne Torres 0409 972 057 leanne.torres@health.nsw.gov.au
HealthShare NSW Melissa Roberts 8644 2457 melissa.roberts@hss.health.nsw.gov.au
HealthShare NSW Samantha Norris   Samantha.Norris@health.nsw.gov.au
Hunter New England Local Health District Melissa Crain 4921 4140 Melissa.Crain1@hnehealth.nsw.gov.au
Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District Gaye Sykes 4221 6813 gaye.sykes@health.nsw.gov.au
Justice Health and Forensic Mental Health Network Iain Crawford   Iain.Crawford@justicehealth.nsw.gov.au
Legal Aid NSW Brigid O'Connor 9219 5668 Brigid.O'Connor@legalaid.nsw.gov.au
Mid North Coast Local Health District Linda Brookes 6691 1970 Linda.Brookes@health.nsw.gov.au
Ministry of Health Mandy Wightman 9391 9652 Mandy.Wightman@moh.health.nsw.gov.au
Murrumbridge Local Health District Setchen Brimson 5943 2010 Setchen.Brimson@gsahs.health.nsw.gov.au
Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District Michael Wood 4734 2639 michael.wood@health.nsw.gov.au
Northern NSW Local Health District Pam Mitchell 6620 2494 Pamela.Mitchell@ncahs.health.nsw.gov.au
Northern Sydney Local Health District Gyani Swift 9463 8782 Gyani.Swift@health.nsw.gov.au
NSW Ambulance James Stewart 9320 7798 James.Stewart1@health.nsw.gov.au
NSW Education Standards Authority Jennifer Fatiaki 9367 8165 executive.support@nesa.nsw.edu.au
NSW Health Pathology Kristy Waddell 4920 4080 kristy.waddell@health.nsw.gov.au
NSW Ombudsman Mia Zaccai 9286 1072 mzaccai@ombo.nsw.gov.au
NSW Parliament Andrew Allan 9230 2998 andrew.allan@parliament.nsw.gov.au
NSW Police Force Mustafa Erem   erem1mus@police.nsw.gov.au
NSW Rural Fire Service Cassandra Williams 8741 5548 Cassandra.Williams@rfs.nsw.gov.au
NSW State Emergency Service Liz Troiani 4251 6287 liz.troiani@ses.nsw.gov.au
NSW TrainLink Pamela Chalmers 9219 1135 pamela.chalmers@transport.nsw.gov.au
Public Service Commission Elle Wood 9272 6152 Elleanor.Wood@psc.nsw.gov.au
Roads and Maritime Services Eleanor Raftery   eleanor.m.raftery@rms.nsw.gov.au
Roads and Maritime Services Kara Clifton 0428 830 355 Kara.Clifton@rms.nsw.gov.au
Roads and Maritime Services Louise Do Canto   Louise.Docanto@rms.nsw.gov.au
South Eastern Sydney Local Health District Maria Jessing   SESLHD-iihub@health.nsw.gov.au
South Western Sydney Local Health District Ahmed Jamal 9828 6926 ahmed.jamal@sswahs.nsw.gov.au
Southern NSW Local Health District Melissa Williams 61507334 melissa.williams1@health.nsw.gov.au
St Vincent's Health Network Charlotte Birchall 8382 3588 Charlotte.Birchall@svha.org.au
State Transit Authority of NSW Chris McDonald   Christopher_Mcdonald@sta.nsw.gov.au
State Transit Authority of NSW Victoria Civils-Wood 9298 6694 Victoria_Civils-Wood@sta.nsw.gov.au
Sydney Children's Hospitals Network Shirley Warren 9845 3442 shirley.warren@health.nsw.gov.au
Sydney Local Health District Ben Short 9515 9339 Ben.Short@health.nsw.gov.au
Sydney Metro Tanya Creighton   Tanya.Creighton@transport.nsw.gov.au
Sydney Trains Heather Jennings   Heather.Jennings@transport.nsw.gov.au
Sydney Trains Samantha Cate 0437 396 938 Samantha.Cate@transport.nsw.gov.au
TAFE NSW Roslyn Bruton 6058 2921 employeerecognition@tafensw.edu.au
Transport for NSW Gabrielle Puskas 0428 243 952 Gabrielle.Puskas@transport.nsw.gov.au
Transport for NSW Stephanie Polihronas 9752 8883 Stephanie.Polihronas@transport.nsw.gov.au
The Treasury Isabelle Nam   Isabelle.Nam@treasury.nsw.gov.au
UrbanGrowth Amy Hoffman 92165710 ahofman@ugdc.nsw.gov.au
Western NSW Local Health District Lauren Herd 6369 3515 lauren.herd@health.nsw.gov.au
Western NSW Local Health District Melanie Iffland 6369 3551 Melanie.Iffland@health.nsw.gov.au
Western Sydney Local Health District Natalie Fester 9845 7984 Natalie.FesterLloyd@health.nsw.gov.au

Contact

The Premier’s Awards for Public Service are managed by the Public Service Commission.

General Information
(02) 9272 6033
psawards@psc.nsw.gov.au
Public sector agencies should contact their Awards Ambassador.

Media and Communications Enquiries
(02) 9272 6126
Kate.Windon@psc.nsw.gov.au

NSW Government Awards
The Department of Premier and Cabinet is responsible for coordinating a number of awards including the NSW Service Medallion and has significant involvement in the Australian Honours.