There is fantastic work being done in the NSW public sector and we want to recognise the people that make it happen.

NSW Premier’s Awards celebrates excellence in the delivery of public services to the NSW community by the public sector, and not-for-profit organisations and private businesses in partnership with public sector agencies and departments.

By recognising excellence today we hope to inspire a brighter future for NSW and Australia.

Award categories

Anthea Kerr Award

The Anthea Kerr Award is awarded to people who exhibit in their work a deep commitment to public sector values and identified leadership potential – attributes that Anthea exemplified throughout her working life.

Anthea Kerr Award

NSW Public Servant of the Year

Recognising exemplary work and outstanding leadership from an individual working for the NSW Government.

A group sit at a meeting table discussing work

Driving public sector diversity

Delivering greater benefits for the people of NSW when our workforce is as diverse as the people we serve.

Excellence in Digital Innovation

World class education and training

Recognising the importance of lifelong education and training opportunities with a focus on improving positive outcomes for the people of NSW.

Two school children work at a desk with a teacher looking over them

Connecting communities

Creating communities where people enjoy living and visiting by providing them with high-quality facilities and amenities.

Well Connected Communities with Quality Local Environments

Building a resilient economy

Growing an economy that works in the interests of its people.

person working at machinery

Excellence in service delivery

Celebrating teams who continue to demonstrate the positive contribution they are making for the people of NSW through a range of services.

three work colleagues chatting at a table

Highest quality healthcare

Improving services to ensure that everyone has access to world-class healthcare when and where they need it.

Recovery and resilience

Key dates

Nominations open – May 2023

Nominations close – July 2023

Finalists announced – September 2023

Premier's Awards ceremony and winners announced – To be announced


The NSW Premier’s Awards are managed by the Public Service Commission.

General Information
Public sector agencies should contact their Awards Ambassador.
Awards Ambassadors can complete the contact form to contact the PSC's Premier's Awards team.

Media and Communications Enquiries
(02) 9272 6000
Complete the PSC's contact form

NSW Government Awards
The Department of Premier and Cabinet is responsible for coordinating a number of awards including the NSW Service Medallion and has significant involvement in the Australian Honours.