About the awards

About the Awards

There is fantastic work being done in the NSW public sector and we want to recognise the people that make it happen.

NSW Premier’s Awards celebrates excellence in the delivery of public services to the NSW community by the public sector, not-for-profit organisations and private businesses.

By recognising excellence today we hope to inspire a brighter future for NSW and Australia.

Key Dates
2020

  • Nominations open – 18 June 2020
  • Nominations close – 14 August 2020
  • Review and Judging – August/September 2020
  • Finalists – 13 October 2020 - View finalists
  • Award ceremony –  4 November 2020, from 4:00 – 5:00 pm*

* Please contact your awards ambassador for further information.

2020 Premier's
Awards
reminder

This year's awards will be live streamed on 4 November 2020, from 4:00 – 5:00 pm

Dont miss out! Add the awards reminder to your email which also contains the streaming event link.

Add to Calendar 04-11-2020 04:00 PM 04-11-2020 05:00 PM Australia/Sydney 2020 Premiers Awards- Live stream reminder

NSW Premier’s Awards celebrates excellence in the delivery of public services to the NSW community by the public sector, not-for-profit organisations and private businesses.

The 2020 Premier's Awards event will be live streamed from this page

This link didnt work? Try copying and pasting the following link: https://premiersawards.nsw.gov.au/2020-ceremony.html#live-stream

This event is streamed live

Award
Categories

Our award categories are designed to recognise excellence in the delivery of public services to the NSW community. There are seven team categories which reflect the five key policy priorities of the NSW Government.

Individuals can be nominated for the Anthea Kerr Award which recognises future public sector leaders under 38 years of age, and for the NSW Public Servant of the Year for exemplary work and outstanding leadership from an individual working for the NSW Government.

2020
Finalists

The 2020 Finalists have now been announced.
Checkout the full list of finalists

Judging
Criteria

  • Initiative shown by a team in identifying the potential for improvement to systems or service provision to the public.
  • Evidence of innovation in responding to a problem, opportunity, or new policy, and in the delivery of the project.
  • Commitment to public sector values, collaboration, excellent customer focus and stakeholder management, leadership.
  • Perseverance and dedication during project start-up, and ongoing to ensure success.
  • Was the project completed on time and within budget?
  • How well did the work improve systems, services or outcomes for the people of NSW?
  • How did the project or initiative contribute to targets/goals? Please provide evaluation and evidence of tangible results, showing your benchmarks and improvements (percentages and numbers).
  • Is the project or initiative scalable, or could it be adapted for other types of projects or organisations?
  • Did the team go above and beyond their normal duties?
  • Does the work succeed where others have failed?
  • Has the work been extended or is it being applied in other areas of, or outside of your organisation?
  • Initiative shown by team in identifying the potential for improvement to systems or service provision to the public.
  • Evidence of innovation in responding to a problem, opportunity, or new policy, and in the delivery of the project.
  • Commitment to public sector values, collaboration, excellent customer focus and stakeholder management, leadership.
  • Perseverance and dedication during project start-up, and ongoing to ensure success.
  • Was the project completed on time and within budget?
  • How well did the work improve systems, services or outcomes for the people of NSW?
  • How did the project or initiative contribute to the target/goal? Please provide evaluation and evidence of tangible results, showing your benchmarks and improvements (percentages and numbers).
  • Is the project or initiative scalable, or could it be adapted for other types of projects or organisations?
  • Did the team go above and beyond their normal duties?
  • Does the work succeed where others have failed?
  • Has the work been extended or is it being applied in other areas of, or outside of your organisation?

Find an
ambassador

Agency/Dept Name Phone Email
Department of Customer Service Carlie Bitz 8276 8349 Carlie.Bitz@customerservice.nsw.gov.au
Department of Customer Service Kristy Blackwell 4226 8652 kristy.blackwell@customerservice.nsw.gov.au
Agency/Dept Name Phone Email
Department of Education Susan White 0428 992 927 susan.white7@det.nsw.edu.au
NSW Education Standards Authority Aimee Beresztan 9367 8199 aimee.beresztan@nesa.nsw.edu.au
TAFE NSW Jen Bass employeerecognition@tafensw.edu.au
Agency/Dept Name Phone Email
Northern Sydney Local Health District Catherine Rosario 9462 9718 (Skype) preferred) catherine.rosario@health.nsw.gov.au
Clinical Excellence Commission Claudia Lovett 0403 986 599 Claudia.Lovett@health.nsw.gov.au
Ministry of Health moh-icse@health.nsw.gov.au
Health Professional Councils Authority Shirley-Ann Ujhazy 9272 6120 psawards@psc.nsw.gov.au
Mental Health Commission Michelle Azizi 0477 753 961 Michelle.azizi@mhc.nsw.gov.au
Agency for Clinical Innovation Shirley-Ann Ujhazy 9272 6033 psawards@psc.nsw.gov.au
Central Coast Local Health District Kylie Downs 4320 9361 kylie.downs@health.nsw.gov.au
Central Coast Local Health District Deborah Saner 4320 9363. Deborah.saner@health.nsw.gov.au
Clinical Excellence Commission CEC CEC-Communications@health.nsw.gov.au
Far West Local Health District Shirley-Ann Ujhazy 9272 6120 psawards@psc.nsw.gov.au
Health Education and Training Insititute Rod West 9844 6522 rod.west@health.nsw.gov.au
Health Infrastructure Nadeena Whitby 0423 330 334 nadeena.whitby@health.nsw.gov.au
HealthShare NSW Sophie Homan Sophie.Homan@health.nsw.gov.au
Hunter New England Local Health District Kristy Morris 4985 5845 Kristy.Morris@health.nsw.gov.au
Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District Gaye Sykes 4221 6813 gaye.sykes@health.nsw.gov.au
Justice Health and Forensic Mental Health Network Iain Crawford 9700 3059 iain.crawford@health.nsw.gov.au
Mid North Coast Local Health District Linda Brookes 6691 1970 Linda.Brookes@health.nsw.gov.au
Murrumbidgee Local Health District Setchen Brimson 5943 2010 Setchen.Brimson@health.nsw.gov.au
Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District Michael Wood 4734 2639 michael.wood@health.nsw.gov.au
Northern NSW Local Health District Pamela Mitchell 6620 2494 Pamela.Mitchell@health.nsw.gov.au
NSW Ambulance Jordi Blakey 9320 7798 jordi.blakey@health.nsw.gov.au
NSW Health Pathology Kristy Waddell 4920 4080 kristy.waddell@health.nsw.gov.au
South Eastern Sydney Local Health District Penelope Taylor 9540 8528 Penelope.taylor1@health.nsw.gov.au
South Western Sydney Local Health District Ahmed Jamal 8738 6926 ahmed.jamal@health.nsw.gov.au
Southern NSW Local Health District Mel Williams 6150 7334 melissa.williams1@health.nsw.gov.au
St Vincent's Health Network Charlotte Birchall 8382 3588 charlotte.birchall@svha.org.au
Sydney Children's Hospitals Network Karen Phillips 9845 3632 Karen.Phillips2@health.nsw.gov.au
Sydney Local Health District Jenny Graham 9515 9673
0491 225 349
jennifer.graham1@health.nsw.gov.au
Sydney Local Health District Patricia Bevan 9515 9095 Patricia.Bevan@health.nsw.gov.au
Western NSW Local Health District Clint Grose 6809 8738 Clinton.Grose@health.nsw.gov.au
Western Sydney Local Health District Natalie Fester Llyod 0429 395 789 Natalie.Festerlloyd@health.nsw.gov.au
Agency/Dept Name Phone Email
Department of Planning, Industry & Environment Rhian Ellis 0427 866 147 RHIAN.ELLIS@dpie.nsw.gov.au
Local Land Services Rhian Ellis 0427 866 147 RHIAN.ELLIS@dpie.nsw.gov.au
Natural Resources Commission Rhian Ellis 0427 866 147 RHIAN.ELLIS@dpie.nsw.gov.au
Agency/Dept Name Phone Email
Department of Premier and Cabinet Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Art Gallery of NSW Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Audit Office of NSW Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Australian Museum Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Government House Sydney Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Greater Sydney Commission Lara Irwin 8289 6158 lara.irwin@gsc.nsw.gov.au
ICAC Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Infrastructure NSW Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Library Council of NSW Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
New South Wales Electoral Commission Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Ombudsman Office James Stuart jstuart@ombo.nsw.gov.au
Parliamentary Counsel's Office Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Office of the Inspector of the Law Enforcement Conduct Commission Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Public Service Commission Elle Wood 9272 6152 Elleanor.Wood@psc.nsw.gov.au
Sydney Opera House Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Trustees of the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Resilience NSW Lucy Scott 9228 3567 lucy.scott1@dpc.nsw.gov.au
Agency/Dept Name Phone Email
Department of Regional NSW Rhian Ellis 0427 866 147 Rhian.Ellis@dpie.nsw.gov.au
Agency/Dept Name Phone Email
Department of Communities and Justice Georga Kemp Georga.Kemp@facs.nsw.gov.au
Department of Communities and Justice Clodagh Barton Available:
Monday – Wednesday
Clodagh.Barton@justice.nsw.gov.au
Department of Communities and Justice - Hunter & Central Coast District Andrew Lapham 4985 1644 andrew.lapham@facs.nsw.gov.au
Fire and Rescue NSW Murray West 0438 305 577 murray.west@fire.nsw.gov.au
Fire and Rescue NSW Brett Hamlin 9269 6322 brett.hamlin@fire.nsw.gov.au
NSW State Emergency Service Liz Troiani 4251 6503 liz.troiani@ses.nsw.gov.au
Multicultural NSW Sarah Macklin 8255 6801 Sarah.macklin@multicultural.nsw.gov.au
Office of Sport Sherilee Hemers 9272 6120 sherilee.hemers@sport.nsw.gov.au
NSW Institute of Sport Najat Khoury 0413 319 969 najat.khoury@nswis.com.au
Legal Aid NSW Brigid O'Connor 9219 5922 Brigid.O'Connor@legalaid.nsw.gov.au
Legal Aid NSW Lotte Callanan 9134 9320 Lotte.Callanan@legalaid.nsw.gov.au
NSW Police Force Lyvia Devine devi1lyv@police.nsw.gov.au
NSW Rural Fire Service Cassandra Williams 8741 5548 Cassandra.Williams@rfs.nsw.gov.au
Agency/Dept Name Phone Email
Transport for NSW Stephanie Polihronas Stephanie.Polihronas@transport.nsw.gov.au
Transport for NSW Bianca Lao Bianca.Lao@transport.nsw.gov.au
Transport for NSW Louise Do Canto 0448 158 015 louise.docanto@transport.nsw.gov.au
Sydney Trains Annabel Mcgilvray 0405 260 919 Annabel.Mcgilvray@transport.nsw.gov.au
Sydney Trains Heather Wilson 0456 164 283 heather.jennings@transport.nsw.gov.au
Agency/Dept Name Phone Email
The Treasury Sarah Peattie 9228 3587 Sarah.Peattie@treasury.nsw.gov.au
SAS Trustee Corporation Shirley-Ann Ujhazy 9272 6120 psawards@psc.nsw.gov.au
Destination NSW Sarah Peattie 9228 3587 Sarah.Peattie@treasury.nsw.gov.au
Western City and Aerotropolis Authority Sarah Peattie 9228 3587 Sarah.Peattie@treasury.nsw.gov.au

Contact

The Premier’s Awards for Public Service are managed by the Public Service Commission.

General Information
(02) 9272 6033
psawards@psc.nsw.gov.au
Public sector agencies should contact their Awards Ambassador.

Media and Communications Enquiries
(02) 9272 6126
Jen.Black@psc.nsw.gov.au

NSW Government Awards
The Department of Premier and Cabinet is responsible for coordinating a number of awards including the NSW Service Medallion and has significant involvement in the Australian Honours.